CSA week 10

IMG_0673

Well, here we are, at what we hope will be the halfway point of our CSA season. Exactly how long we run will depend on the weather. Since we had a later spring than we had hoped, maybe we’ll have a late fall as well!

The summer squash plants are still going strong, but I feel that the last 2 boxes have been heavy enough in squash that everyone will appreciate a rest. Corn, though, seems to be a popular item at the Farmer’s Market, and I certainly can’t get my fill of fresh sweet corn. So, corn is again included. Carrots also have a repeat performance. If you are looking for a new way to enjoy them you might try Chipotle-Lime Roasted Carrots or steamed, buttered and sprinkled with dill (still my favorite!)

The hot weather got me thinking about the many ways to spice up drinking water to make sure it’s easy to stay hydrated. That’s why I’ve included fresh mint in this week’s share. Gently crush a few sprigs and toss into a pitcher of water to store in the fridge for an extra refreshing glass when you need it. If you want to get a bit fancy, fix yourself a Mint Mojito or the non-boozy version here. It’s also very refreshing to just chew a leaf or two of mint throughout the day…better and better for you than store bought chewing gum!

The rest of the box will be perfect for some fresh salsa: tomatoes, green pepper, onion and jalapenoes. This is what I always most about fresh garden tomatoes since I pretty much refuse to buy those round cardboard things from the supermarket in the winter…unless I am really, really desperate. I don’t have a real recipe and that’s probably OK because everyone has their own taste when it comes to salsa.You will probably want to use all the tomatoes if you make salsa, as for the peppers and onions, it’s totally up to your taste. You will probably have some left over for another dish!

IMG_0670

I just do a rough chop of the ingredients and let them sit together for a few hours for the flavors to meld. If you like, you could put everything in the blender, once it’s chopped, for a smoother texture. I like it chunky. Chop your tomatoes and add to your bowl. I do a fine chop for my onion and jalapeno to make sure the spice and flavor are distributed. I do the same for the green pepper (you can use any sweet pepper) just so the salsa isn’t too crunchy. Use more or less jalapeno and onion to your taste and a tip: adding some of the seeds of the jalapeno will add more heat to your salsa. If you have cilantro, fresh or dried, it’s a great addition. You can also add cumin to taste. I always use a few splashes of lemon or lime juice but some folks use cider vinegar.

A note about the tomatoes: we grow a wide variety of them! Red is only the beginning, some of my favorites are yellow and green when ripe. In the boxes this week there are a fair amount of reds with a yellow here and there and even a few purple-y looking ones. I couldn’t find the tag for those, so I’m not positive, but I think they are technically called a ‘black’ tomato. Enjoy the colors!

Tags: , , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. CSA week 11 | Square Peg Food Farm - August 29, 2013

Leave a Reply

