Fall clean-up and fancy flowers

IMG_0753

‘Tis the season for some clean up in the yard and garden before we get surprised with snow on the ground. My flower/herb garden has been out of control for some time now. So, this past weekend I dug out any perennials and took cuttings of any herbs that I wanted to save and Dave mowed it down. Yes, it was so bad that the mower was needed, and it will be tilled so that I can have a do-over. My eyes were a little bigger than my ambition and free time with a new baby to consider.  Next year it will be neat and tidy, I swear. Ha!

IMG_0757

 

Most everything is out of the big garden, save a few carrots that need to be dug and some weed barrier and other infrastructure that will come down soon. Dave has been busy taking down pea fences and metal posts ahead of our tillers that we just let loose in the garden last week.

IMG_0754IMG_0755

These pigs are doing a great job cleaning up the garden and get treats to boot! They’ve been dining on corn and corn stalks, beans, left over tomatoes and peppers, pea and squash vines and any other goodies they can dig up as they move around the garden. We will still have to run the mower, then the tiller through to break up and work in any additional debris when they are finished, but some areas look ready to go!

IMG_0758

As I cleaned out the flower/herb garden, I made sure to cut everything I thought I could preserve to use this winter. Many of the herbs got chopped and frozen in ice cube containers. Thyme, oregano, parsley and sage are in oil. Some mint is in lime juice for instant mojitos (just add gin) the rest is in water to use for tea or mint flavored water. Once the cubes were frozen I popped them out and dropped them into freezer bags and they are ready to throw into any recipe.

IMG_0759

I also had some pansies and borage which are edible. These were frozen in larger containers for fancy iced water at the next event I host. The borage are the blue star shaped flowers. The flowers don’t have much taste but the borage leaves taste like cucumber so they were added in for something a bit refreshing!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

