CSA Week 9

Despite our best efforts our peas and green beans have really slowed down their progress. One week each of our four rows of green beans put out a grocery bag full of beans, last night I filled less than a grocery bag, maybe a pound. We did start watering the plants early in the week and there are now lots of flowers and tiny beans. We hope to send some with the shares in the near future.

CSA Week 9 | Square Peg Food Farm

Today, shareholders will take home as much corn as they would like! I will have 4 totes with me and I have yet to pick almost half of the section that is ripe. I will be doing some canning this weekend, me-thinks. Corn will keep well for a few days in the fridge. I love it cooked up on the grill. You could also blanch and freeze it for this winter, or make corn salsa or creamed corn, yum!

This weeks share also includes a cucumber, one bunch of carrots, zucchini and/or yellow squash, tomatoes, 3 lbs of potatoes and an eggplant. My favorite way to enjoy carrots is steamed or boiled, served with butter and dill. The eggplant always seems a little daunting to people. Here’s a nice recipe for Eggplant Parmesan. I like to slice them thin and use in a vegetable lasagna with tomato based sauce.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

